There is good in this world…..

From the moment I set foot in the USA this summer I’ve been overwhelmed by the kindness and sincerity of nearly all the American people I’ve met as my journey has progressed. I say nearly all because there was one incident which helped make up my mind about travelling through Chicago and one of its neighbors, a place called Garry. Let’s just say it cost me $10 and I’m still here to tell the tale, and it’s the reason I chose to cycle up the eastern shore of Lake Michigan, meet more wonderful American people and I don’t regret that one little bit.

Today I finally arrived at the famous Adventure Cyclist bunkhouse in Dalbo, Minnesota. I’d first read about it on the Adventure Cycling Association website whilst researching routes etc. for this trip and I made absolutely sure that my routes brought me here. I’m not disappointed; in fact I am truly in awe of what the owner of the property, Donn Olson, has done for the benefit of touring cyclists. I’m sure there are many other equally generous people around the world but when you are the recipient of this generosity yourself you cannot help that awesome feeling  towards the giver.

I’ll not say any more. What I will do is leave you with my photos and direct you towards an Adventure Cycling webpage featuring the bunkhouse: https://www.adventurecycling.org/resources/blog/cyclists-only-lodging-dalbo-minnesota/

and a YouTube interview: “Bicycle Bunkhouse Dalbo”   What a lovely guy.

Published by

wheresmarkblog

This blog is about my cycle tour across the United States of America, East coast to West coast, beginning in late June 2016. It is also a fundraising event for the See Hear Centre in Barnstaple UK (a useful resource for people with sensory loss) and a personal notebook of my own hearing loss and the challenges I encounter on a daily basis. You can donate online via: mydonate.bt.com/fundraisers/marksaunders or download a sponsorship form by following the links on my "About" page.

2 thoughts on “There is good in this world…..”

  1. Good one Mark, keep it coming. Yep people in Minnisota are great, found out when I worked there. Some real good pics. The girls at Go Travel are loving the blog as well! Cycle safe mate

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mark, I really look forward to your updates and see where you are. Before I retired, I did a lot of travel in Wisconsin, Minnesota, and the Dakotas. Lots of great farm country and people! Be safe and I’m anticipating your next update!

    Like

Leave a comment